Finally!

Hey guys!

Where do I start?

After deliberating about making a blog for the last 4 years and having never found the time to actually just sit down and do it, I finally did it tonight.

You see, my ‘finding time’ fits somewhere between laying on the sofa doing literally nothing, working and sleeping.  You would think over the last 4 years I might have found something more productive to do ha!

So now I’m a bit late jumping on the old bandwagon of make up and beauty blogging and I’m not promising I’m going to show you anything you probably haven’t already seen a million times, I’m not even promising that it might be interesting(!) but what I would like to think I’m offering is a different angle, with hopefully a bit of humour and fun along the way.  It’s dissapointing I took so long really… all the amazing, unique, quirky names for a blog I had come up with over the years are taken! So upsetting.

So guys, I’m definitely no make up artist.  I can safely say, aside from Halloween and one random day I decided to wear black lipstick (why?) I hardly ever wear anything crazy on my face.  Yes I go completely overboard with foundations and concealers and powders, but what I’m hoping I can share with you is how to walk out of the house thinking “yeah, do you know what, I look bloody decent today!”  Not “I feel a little uncomfortable wearing this make up because I don’t feel like myself” (try wearing black lipstick in public, you’ll never have that feeling stronger, trust me)!

Who am I?

To give you a bit of a back story about me, I started wearing a full face of make up when I was about 11.  Yes, 11.  It was horrendous.  I’m talking full coverage foundation, blue eyeshadows, black eyeliner and bright pink blusher all topped off with the gloopiest lip gloss you have ever seen.  The worst part is, I thought I looked good!  My Mum kinda went a bit nuts whenever she see me wearing it… “what impression do you think you’re giving out…” etc.  The thing was, I didn’t really know what she was talking about.  I certainly didn’t slap all that make up on my face to make anyone else happy!  I loved it… I loved sitting in front of that mirror and putting all these products on my face; to me, my face was a canvas and I was making it look pretty and colourful!  I still feel like that.  I get out of the shower in the morning, get dressed and sit in front of that mirror.  I look at my face for a long time deciding what I’m going to do today to make me feel good; it’s a satisfying experience for me and to be honest, the only 15 minutes of actual peace I have in my day where I get to 100% truly focus on myself.  I know there may be some ladies (or gents!) out there who find the process of make up application a laborious, unfortunate task that needs to be done.  I just wanna share that it doesn’t have to be like that.

I hope you enjoy this blog as much as I’m sure I will enjoy creating it.  If you have anything you want to ask me, please don’t hesitate to get in touch!

Maria xo

2 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere lovely! I can’t wait to read more from you 🙂 I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging as much as we all do here ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

