Tips & Tricks for a Super Speedy Morning Routine!

Running late

Mornings can be a stressful time.  It’s a never-ending guilt trip of deciding to snooze that alarm for 10 more minutes and then leave the house looking like the troll under the bridge.  I know this feeling, however, if you’re like me, I’ve trained myself to get ready in exactly 45 minutes and actually leave the house looking like a decent human being, and that includes having a tea or coffee AND breakfast!

I know what you’re thinking… what is this sorcery? But I’m going to tell you a few things which might just speed up your morning routine and have you feeling fresh, calm and polished.

Firstly, the key to a fast morning routine is preparation. And no, I don’t mean choosing an outfit the night before, lining up your make up in usage order and all that mind-numbing time-consuming stuff. I mean, in your general life, you can make a few changes which will shave vital minutes off your usual morning routine.

  1. Do washing and ironing regularly. I know what you’re thinking… that is seriously boring. But I tell what is worse – running around the house at 7 in the morning using the straighteners to get rid of creases from the dress that has been in the dirty washing for a week.
  2. Separate your “work/school” outfits from the rest of your wardrobe. I don’t mean buy a whole other wardrobe just for this stuff, but keep it to one side in your wardrobe and you will know exactly where all your ‘work appropriate’ stuff is and won’t have to go rooting through every other item of clothing to find something to wear.
  3. Leading on from point 2, ensure that you actually like all of your work/school outfits. It seems silly, but the amount of times in the past that I’ve put on an outfit and felt uncomfortable because it didn’t fit, or I didn’t like it or whatever other reason, is ridiculous. Make sure you have at least 5-10 outfits that fit well, are appropriate and make you feel good. That way, in the morning, when you’re pushed for time, you won’t be stressing about what to wear because ALL of your outfits will be fine!
  4. Keep your make up in the same place! I know it sounds simple but I am really guilty for this. I take out a lipstick or powder or whatever from my makeup case to use for a night out and end up leaving it in that bag. Come weekday morning, I’m hunting around for that product and I can’t find it anywhere. It adds to the stress levels, wastes your time and you will end up feeling a sweaty, late mess. Just put stuff back where it goes and you’ve just saved yourself 10 minutes of looking through every clutch bag you own.
  5. Train yourself to think that your work/school start time is at least 15-30 minutes earlier than it is. This seems stupid, right? But I ALWAYS aim to be at work for 8am, even though I don’t have to start until 8:30am. When I get there at 8am, it’s not an issue, I just make myself a coffee, relax, open my computer and check through the internet or something. When my other colleagues come racing through the door at 8:31am I am relaxed and ready to start my day and they are stressed and red-faced. If, by any chance, I am running really late, I will probably still get there on time or a bit earlier because I’ve given myself that half an hour window. Trust me, this does work.

Now, onto the hardcore stuff… you have failed to prepare and you’ve woken up really late. Every second counts and you need to get out of the front door as soon as possible.

  1. Brush your teeth in the shower. This may save you like 1 minute, but that minute counts!
  2. Don’t wash your hair! If you usually wash your hair in the morning, you may need to curb that this time, you haven’t got time for that! This will save you 10 minutes washing time and, if you’ve got hair like mine (think and frizzy!) 30 minutes blow drying and styling it! Spray some dry shampoo in it, and if you really have to, put it up in a sleek pony tail or bun!
  3. Minimise your make up. You haven’t got time to apply that perfect slick of liquid liner today. You will end up rushing it, it will look a mess and you will have to wipe it off and start your whole face again. My tip: run a black or brown pencil gently on the top of your lash line and smudge it out into a smoky line. It’s much more forgiving and takes a fraction of the time.
  4. Don’t ever NOT shower. I have done this when I’m in a rush and I felt awful all day! I would rather skip every other step than skip this one. Perspective: you’re already late, 2-3 additional minutes in the shower is not going to make a huge difference to how late you are and you will feel fresh all day. Skipping a shower means you’re already late and now you have to spend the whole day smelling like Stinky Pete.
  5. Relax! Ok, you’re late. You’ve jumped out of bed like a ninja and your mind is telling you to run around the house like a headless chicken and get ready as fast as humanly possible.  Don’t!  You’re still half asleep, your thoughts are all muddled and you will probably just extend your getting ready time if you jump straight up and start running around.  Instead, get out of bed, stand up and stretch.  Give yourself 30 seconds to compose your thoughts and think what you’re going to do first in a logical way and then start getting ready.  The more urgent you feel, the more mistakes you will make.  Everything always seems to go wrong when you’re in a rush, right?  Well pretend to yourself that you’re not and everything will go right, trust me!

I hope these tips helped you if you’re always running late, like me!  If you’ve got any tips for when you’re running late, leave them in a comment!

Leave a Reply

